A picture of indecision

My inbox Monday afternoon after a flurry of order revisions.

My inbox Monday afternoon after a flurry of order revisions.

Thought you’d might like to see what happens when I put off finalizing a menu until the last minute: US Foods gets one order and seven revisions in a half-hour and my inbox gets flooded.

This wouldn’t be possible without US Foods’ flexible online platform (they call it “Dot Com”), which today I managed to use from my iPad (first draft of the order), computer (submitting it) and my phone (the revisions, while standing in the pantry and in the walk-in fridge door).

Not only are the apps and website easy to use, they provide photos of the products as well as a wealth of information, including ingredients and allergens. If I order something made with peanut oil in the summer, it’s my own fault.

Two things I’ll miss about US Foods actually are in this photo. My 6 p.m. order deadline is generous. And I’ve never had a problem sneaking changes or late orders in a bit past the deadline, too, as you’ll see here.

And then there’s the ability to order online to begin with. Sysco said I couldn’t order online unless I could guarantee $1,000 a week for 50 weeks (an annualized $50,000 wouldn’t do, my salesman said).

 

Leave a Reply

