Summer’s greatest hits

We served several staff picnics on the beach. I cannot take credit for the chicken kebabs, though, because as you can see, someone else cooked them.

We served several staff picnics on the beach. I cannot take credit for the chicken kebabs, though, because as you can see, someone else cooked them.

I was brought to smiles while cleaning out my phone today. Great memories of a great summer staff. Hard to believe we disbanded three months ago.

Have a look. Meet my crew. See what we cooked, beyond what we published on the blog.

My 2012 staff managed to all be in the same place for a 2013 photo. Complete with lifeguard Phil photobombing in the background, as he did last year.

My 2012 staff managed to all be in the same place for a 2013 photo. Complete with lifeguard Phil photobombing in the background, as he did last year.

Somewhere behind the cotton candy is kitchen staffer Ryan, who was always looking for a more efficient way to do something.

Somewhere behind the cotton candy is kitchen staffer Ryan, who was always looking for a more efficient way to do something.

Summer wingman Remi. The only photo where you won't see her working extremely hard.

Summer wingman Remi. The only photo where you won’t see her working extremely hard.

Kendra. Just Kendra. Words cannot express how reliable, earnest and humble she was while working in the kitchen this summer.

Kendra. Just Kendra. Words cannot express how reliable, earnest and humble she was while working in the kitchen this summer. (In case you’re wondering, these are apple nachos.) Apples instead of chips, chocolate instead of salsa, caramel instead of cheese, whipped cream instead of sour cream, and all sorts of toppings, like sprinkles and marshmallows.

It's a bird! It's a plane! It's a porcupine in the tree outside the dining hall!

It’s a bird! It’s a plane! It’s a porcupine in the tree outside the dining hall!

Bri hams it up, as she always does. This was toward the end of picking ends off about 100 pounds of beans.

Brianna hams it up, as she always does. This was toward the end of picking ends off about 100 pounds of beans.

Program assistant Abbie gets the last chocolate chip pancake of the summer while Joselyn photobombs. Both are among my prized kitchen alumni.

Program assistant Abbie gets the last chocolate chip pancake of the summer while Joselyn photobombs. Both are among my prized kitchen alumni from my first summer.

The tiniest bunch of asparagus ever. Just the tips, actually, but I couldn't resist the photo.

The tiniest bunch of asparagus ever. Just the tips, actually, but I couldn’t resist the photo.

Kitchen staffer Sekoya, right, was on the losing end of a food fight at a staff dinner after a smorgasbord.

Kitchen staffer Sekoya, right, was on the losing end of a food fight at a staff dinner after a smorgasbord.

In a photo I stole from her Facebook page, counselor Rachel devours a cornish hen at the staff banquet.

In a photo I stole from her Facebook page, counselor Rachel devours a cornish hen at the staff banquet.

The Sisters McCune, two of my favorite kitchen helpers of all time, didn't work at camp this summer but they helped prepare the staff banquet, with Anna grilling steaks and Shanon doing a lot of plating.

The Sisters McCune, two of my favorite kitchen helpers of all time, didn’t work at camp this summer but they helped prepare the staff banquet, with Anna grilling steaks and Shanon doing a lot of plating.

Super sweet kitchen staffer Brittany, testing my insistence that she could order anything she wanted at Wemple & Edick's.

Kitchen staffer Brittany, testing my insistence that she could order anything she wanted at Wemple & Edick’s.

If your birthday fell during the summer, you got to pick a meal. Counselor Catie wanted a Reuben, and I think we delivered!

If your birthday fell during the summer, you got to pick a meal. Counselor Catie wanted a Reuben, and I think we delivered! Thanks to Rauch’s bakery for the awesome marble rye.

The only picture I could find of Rachael, second from left, one of the most versatile workers I've ever known. This was after the Amish auction, shortly after I found out I'd just missed a visit by the health inspector. Oh well, who wants ice cream? From left, Erika, Rachael, super volunteer Julianna and class clown Brianna.

The only picture I could find of Rachael, second from left, one of the most versatile workers I’ve ever known. This was after the Amish auction, shortly after I found out I’d just missed a visit by the health inspector. Oh well, who wants ice cream? From left, Erika, Rachael, super volunteer Julianna and kitchen staffer Brianna.

Balsamic-braised local onions for a smorgasbord.

Balsamic-braised local onions for a smorgasbord. Smelled amazing, and interesting to look at.

Leave a Reply

